Naja revision

A new revision of African forest cobras (Naja) by Wuster et al. has described two new species and recognised a total of five species. In southern Africa, Naja melanoleuca is now known as N. sbfulva, melanoleuca reserved

Most species can be identified by their geographic distribution, with rxceptions between Naja savannula and guineensis, and melanoleuca and subfulva.

N. subfulva can be distinguished from melanoleuca by a brown rather than black anterior dorsum.

N. savannula can be distinguised from guineensis by having dorsal coloration extending further down the body, typically between 3-8 light bands.
Wuster, W. et al. 2018 Integration of nuclear and mitochondrial gene sequences and morphology reveals unexpected diversity in the forest cobra (Naja melanoleuca) species complex in Central and West Africa (Serpentes: Elapidae). Zootaxa, 4455(1), 68-98.

Thanks to Alex (@alexanderr) for writing this up.

Posted by calebcam calebcam, October 09, 2018 22:32


No comments yet.

Add a Comment

Sign In or Sign Up to add comments

Is this inappropriate, spam, or offensive? Add a Flag